Meet Dionne from The Alex Chronicles: What My Friends Don’t Know

Alex Book One Promo Card Dionne

DIONNE

EXCERPT:

“Are we going to talk about what happened?”  Silence.  So I poked the bear.  “I know you know, and that’s why you’ve been avoiding my calls.”  He exhaled loudly.  “Quentin…Quentin…fine.”

I turned the light off and laid down.  I tossed and turned for quite a while before finally dozing off.  The sudden shift of the bed woke me.  I sat up and realized I was in bed alone.  I got up and went searching the house for Quentin.  I went down to the kitchen and found him sitting at the counter with his face in his hands.  “What is going on with you?”

I exhaled.  I could either ignore him and the direction this conversation could go or I could just answer him.  “There’s nothing wrong with me.”

“I don’t understand why you keep playing into her hand.”

“Are you serious?  She’s the one who…I don’t want to get into this right now.”  I turned and started out of the kitchen.

He lowered his hands.  “Where are you going?”

“Back to bed because I see where this conversation is headed and I don’t want to go there.”

“You’ve been calling me all afternoon saying you wanted to talk and now that I do, you don’t.”

“I don’t think either of us is in the right frame of mind for this conversation.”

He nodded.  “Don’t you see what she’s trying to do?”

“Do you?”  No answer.  “Fine, you want to talk Quentin, let’s talk.”  I walked back into the kitchen and stood on the other side of the large, white marble counter staring at him.  Sitting in front of me wasn’t the man I married, but my mother-in-law’s son.  Right now it felt like he was on her side and not mine.  “I get that you’re tired of fighting, but so am I.  It seems I’ve been fighting a war all by myself.  Since when did you stop fighting with me?”

“What are you talking about?”

“When it comes to your family, it feels like I’m all alone.”

“That’s what you think?”

“That’s how it feels.”  Silence.  “I have tried being nice to your mother, but she’s constantly attacking me.”

“So you felt the best way to handle her was to play into her hand.  You gave her exactly what she wanted.”

“What she wants is to break us up.  And today she proved just how far she’s willing to go to make that happen.”  My voice was starting to escalate.  “My God, Quentin, she brought that woman to our home.”

 

To celebrate the release, I’m keeping it at the pre-order price, $2.99.

Available at  Amazon    iBooks   Nook or Barnes and Noble   Kobo

For More information go to www.readtracyreed.com

Leave a Reply

