TRUFFLE POPCORN…Perfect Indulgence

One of the simplest snacks to make is also one of the most decadent, elegant and romantic.  POPCORN.

Popcorn is one of my favorite snacks.  Often, making a big batch for dinner along with a glass of something bubbly or still.

When I was in Napa a couple of years ago, I visited the Chandon Winery.  Make it a must see when you go to Napa.  I also stopped by one of my East Coast favorites, Dean & Deluca.  I hear you now wondering what this has to do with my opening statement.  While I was at Dean & Deluca, is bought some Truffle Salt.  The service person suggested I try it on popcorn.  POPCORN.

I was shocked at her suggestion.  I’ve had truffle fries, mashed potatoes and eggs…a few more decadent treats.  But it never occurred to me to try it on popcorn.  When I returned home I immediately made some truffle popcorn.  Oh My God!  It was incredible.

Back to my opening statement.  Some friends made a surprise visit and all I had was popcorn, truffle salt and a little olive oil.  I made a batch and they were very impressed.

This week, I got an email from Chandon Winery…of course I joined their mailing list.  Here’s their link  Chandon.com.  Not only can you order wine, you can also get recipes.  The other day, I got this post on Truffle Popcorn and thought I’d share it with you.  If you’re looking for a decadent treat for yourself or for a romantic movie night, try this recipe.

I can’t wait to try this recipe.

Truffle Popcorn

Truffle Popcorn

Mixing truffles with your popcorn is a little like drinking étoile Brut at a baseball game: delightfully original and perfectly delicious.

Prized for their pungent and earthy taste, truffles have been hunted since antiquity in the forests of France and Italy, where they grow wild among the roots of truffle oaks.

The intense flavor of the black truffle is best showcased in bland dishes like mashed potatoes, risotto and scrambled eggs.

White truffle oil (which is simply olive oil with truffle aroma added to it) has a slightly peppery, garlicky taste. A little goes a long way.

Makes about 8 quarts of popcorn
  • 6 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 Tbsp minced black truffle (optional)
  • 1 tsp white truffle oil
  • Salt
  • 3 Tbsp vegetable oil
  • 2 cups popcorn kernels
  • Freshly ground pepper

In a small saucepan, melt the butter over low heat. Stir in the truffles, truffle oil and a pinch of salt; keep warm.

In a large, heavy pot, heat the vegetable oil. Add the popcorn kernels, cover and cook over moderate heat until the popcorn starts popping. Continue cooking, shaking the pan continuously, until the popping has almost stopped.

Carefully pour the popcorn into a very large bowl, add the truffled butter and toss well. Season with salt and pepper and serve right away.

Microwave Instructions

In a cup or small bowl, mix together the unpopped popcorn and 2 tablespoons oil. Pour the coated corn into a brown paper lunch sack, and sprinkle in the salt. Fold the top of the bag over twice to seal in the ingredients.

Cook in the microwave at full power for 2½ to 3 minutes, or until you hear pauses of about 2 seconds between pops.

Carefully pour the popcorn into a very large bowl, add the truffled butter and toss well. Season with salt and pepper and serve right away.

Visit Chandon.com for more recipes.

[This is not an endorsed post.]

 

One thought on “TRUFFLE POPCORN…Perfect Indulgence

  1. WOW!!!!!
    What a great idea!
    Will try it tonight!
    Have a great weekend!
    Greeetings from Stockholm,sweden!
    /anna

Leave a comment