What Is Making Love?

Promo-Card-#2

What is “making love”?  That’s the question Sean asked Kyla.  On the surface, it seemed like a joke, until he explained his definition.  Read the excerpt and decide for yourself.  GENERATIONAL CURSE  is on sale for a limited time, $.99.

 

EXCERPT:

“What are you doing?”

“Taking care of you.  That’s what a good boyfriend does.”

“Some boyfriend, you haven’t even kissed me.”  She pouted.

He continued rubbing her feet.  “Why do you want me to kiss you?”

“Because that’s what people do when they’re attracted to each other.  It lets the other person know how they feel.”

“Is that what you think?”

“Yes.”

“Why do you want to kiss me?” he asked.

“So you’ll know how I feel about you.”  She looked over at Simon and Winnie nuzzling each other.  “Winnie is getting further than I am.  I thought part of this experiment was for you to show me—”

“What’s the most intimate thing a man and woman can do?”

“Make love.”

“Make love?” he questioned her response.

“Yeah, you’re exposed and naked sharing yourself with someone else.”

He nodded, “That’s not true.”

“I know it’s been a while for you, but—”

“A long time ago, people used the term, “make love” to indicate courting, spending time together, showing affection.  Over time, the phrase got distorted to suit our version of what making love is.”

“What are you talking about?”

“Making love is not having sex.”

“Then what is it?”

“It’s what we’re doing right now.  Talking, spending time together, sharing.  When you have sex with someone, you don’t have to be there mentally or emotionally.  Heck, you can even visualize someone else, meaning you’re not being intimate.   You’re just passing time.”

“Yeah but…” Kyla knew exactly what he was saying.  Since she and Sean had become friends, she had been pretending she was with him when she was with Eric.

“When you talk to them, you become closer and more intimate than if you were naked, rolling around in bed.  I’ve told you things I haven’t shared with my brother or best friend.”

“You have?”

“And you invited me over to your apartment, your sanctuary.  Why?”

“Because I’m in no position to do anything.”  She laughed.

“No, because you trust me.  Which means you have—”

“Don’t say it.”  He saw her trying to hide a smile.

“Because you care about me and Simon.”

“Okay, so if you care about me, then why won’t you kiss me?”

He let out a sigh, “Woman, I can’t afford to have you confused.”

“What, is your kiss that powerful it’s gonna blow my mind?”

“The first time you teased me about kissing you, you were right.  I did want to kiss you.   Every time I’m with you, I want to wrap you up in my arms and kiss you.  But if I do, it will just complicate things.”

“How?”

“You’re still tied to the boyfriend and I can’t do what he does for you.  Once you realize you want more, I’ll be here.”

“What do you mean?”

“Right now, I’m a challenge for you.”

“Is that what you think?”

“Yes.  You’re upset because I’m not playing your game.”

“My game?”  she patted the pillow on her stomach.

“If you had your way, you would have seduced me and been done with me.”

“Is that what you think?”

“That’s what I know.  Girl, I may not have had sex in a while, but I’m a smart man, and I know when a woman is coming on to me.”

“Really?” She smiled.

“Oh yeah.  The subtle glances, the kisses on the cheek, eating off my plate.”  She dropped her mouth open.  “The invitations for coffee, coming by the showroom, asking me about God and the things that are important to me.  I know what you thought you were doing, but something happened.”

“What are talking about?”

“You started caring about me.” She tried pulling her feet back.

“Sean Prescott let go of my feet.”

“Stop it.  The truth hurts doesn’t it?”

“If I wasn’t in so much pain, I’d put you out.”  She folded her arms in front of her trying to pout.

“Look at me.”  She lifted her head looking at him.  “I care about you, too.”

“You do?”

He nodded.  “Yes, I do.  But I can’t be with you, not like that.”

“Because of the boyfriend?”

“And…”

“God.”

“Yeah.  I can’t overlook those two things.”

“What if I—”

“Don’t change just to be with me.  Change because you want to.”  He looked at her and saw her eyes fill with water.

 

Mailing List:

www.readtracyreed.com

 

Buy Links:

Amazon.com

Nookpress.com

Smashwords.com

AllRomanceeBooks.com

itunes.com

Leave a Reply

