He Will Never Love Her The Way I Do

Promo-Card-#4-Recovered

In honor of the last few days of summer, my book GENERATIONAL CURSE is on sale.  The ebook is on special for a limited time…$ .99.

In case you haven’t read it or have a friend that hasn’t read it either,  I’ll be sharing a few excerpts.  Here’s the first one.  Hope you enjoy it.   If you read Kyla and Sean’s story, tell a friend and write a review.  Thanks.

 

SAMPLE CHAPTER:

“I heard when you have bad news to tell someone you care about, it’s best to do it at a place you don’t like.  Because once you share the bad news you’ll always associate it with that place.  And if it’s a place you like, you’ll never want to go there again, because you’ll always remember the bad news.”

“Do you have some bad news to tell me?”

“Yes.”

“Then just tell me.”

She closed her eyes, exhaled and blurted out, “My boyfriend is married.”

“What!”

“My boyfriend is married.”

“I heard you.”  The silence was thick.  Sean sat still staring at her, not blinking and not speaking.

“Say something.”

He finally blinked.  “I knew you were keeping something from me.  Here’s the funny part.  I thought the boyfriend was your way of telling me you were married.  I never…”

“I’m sorry but I didn’t know how to tell you.”

“You just say it.”

“I’m sorry.  I like you and I couldn’t continue seeing you without telling you everything.”  She waited for a response.  “Say something.”  She reached into her bag, pulled out a twenty dollar bill and placed it on the table.  “Okay then.”  She stood up.

“Sit down,” he said sternly.  The sound of those two words rolling off his lips scared her.  “I said, sit down.”

She was frozen in her tracks.  Sean had never spoken to her like that.  She looked around to see if anyone was looking at them and slowly sat back down, tightly holding her bag.  No man had ever shown so much anger towards her.   She wasn’t quite sure how to react.  He looked at her, processing the information she had just shared.  He took a sip of his coffee wishing it had something a little stronger in it.

“Sean, please say something.”

“I’m trying to figure out why my beautiful, smart, friend is doing something so stupid.”

“Did you just call me stupid?”

“No, I asked why are you doing such a stupid thing.”

She squirmed in her seat, trying to figure out the best answer that wouldn’t make him angrier.  “He wasn’t married when we started dating.”

“I don’t understand.”

“He got married a couple of years ago.”

“I’m sorry, I’m trying to understand.”

“When I met him, he was single.”

“What happened?”

“He thought it looked better for his practice if he were married.”

“And?”

“I didn’t want to get married.”

“Why not?  You’d be…”

“What, a good wife…please.  I’m sure I would be if that’s what I wanted.  But I’m not the soccer mom, pizza party, arm candy type.”

“Who is when they get married?”

“My mother, my sister.  No, that’s not the life for me.  I like not having to answer to anyone.”  He shook his head in disbelief at what she was saying. “Sean I don’t expect you to understand and it’s for sure I don’t need your approval.”

“Then why did you tell me?”

“I…thought maybe…I’m not quite sure. I just felt you needed to know.”

He nodded and looked at her and saw something he hadn’t seen before, shame.  “I don’t get it.  You don’t need to share a man.”

“I’m not sharing a man.  I allow him to have his life while I have mine.”

Each comment was more insane than the one before.  “Your life?”

“Yes.  He wanted a showpiece and I wanted my freedom.”

“So you weren’t good enough to be his showpiece?”

“On the contrary, I tried it his way for a while before he got married and I didn’t like it. That’s when I told him I would help him find the best wife that wasn’t me.”

“What!  I don’t believe this.”

“What, you think I should be ashamed of how I’m living?  I am a successful, single woman living life on my terms.  I don’t see why that’s a problem.”

She raised her glass to get the server’s attention to bring her another glass of champagne.  The server placed the glass in front of her.  She took a couple of sips and the thick wall of silence was up again.  He wasn’t sure what to do or say.  How could a man knowingly agree to the absurdities she was saying.  She stood up and he grabbed her hand.

“Sit down.”

“Excuse me?”

“I said, sit down.”  The stern tone in his voice and the heat from his touch sent a chill up her spine.  She hadn’t felt like this in a long time.  She slowly sat down on the wooden chair.

“I thought you were upset.”

“I am, but not at you, at him.  I don’t understand a man who would let you do what you did and not have a problem with it.”

“I told you—”

“How long have you been sleeping with him?” he cut her  off before she could offer another ridiculous excuse.

“Over five years.”

“How long has he been married?”

“About three years.”

“I want you to stop.”

“Why, because you care about me?”

“Yes.”

“Sweetie, that’s not going to happen.”

“Why?  Is it money?  I’ll give you—”

“I’ll cut you a little slack because I know you’re in shock.”  Her tone instantly changed from jovial to irritated.  “But don’t ever say anything like that to me again.”

“I’m sorry.”

“Yes, he gives me money, but it’s not what you think.  He also gives me something you can’t or won’t.”

“Sex.”

“Exactly.”

“So this is all about sex and money.”

“More sex than money.”  He got quiet again.  “Okay, it’s been fun and I see this is something you can’t handle.  I’ll make sure when I come into the show—”

“You know what your problem is?  You don’t realize how wonderful you are.”

“Excuse me?”

“You don’t see what I see.”

“What do you see Sean?”

“I see a woman desperate to get out of a situation, but just doesn’t know how.”

“Oh really?”

“Yes.”

“I don’t see it that way.  And you’re wrong.  I do know how wonderful I am.”

“No, you don’t.  Because if you did, you wouldn’t be with a married man.”

“Sean, I’m not going to argue with you.”

“Let me be your boyfriend.”

“What?”

“Let me date you for a week.”

“What are you talking about?”

“Give me one week to show you how you deserve to be treated.”

“Are you insane?”

“No.  What do you do with the boyfriend?  I mean apart from the obvious.  And not in the past, but since he’s been married.”

“Make love and eat.”

“Do you go out?”

“No, we either order in or I cook.”

“So it is only sex?”

“No, sometimes we watch a movie or talk.”

“But the majority of the time is spent in bed?”

“Yes.”

“Give me one week,” he requested.

“What can you show me in a week that will make me want to break up with…are you gonna slip up and…”

“No. Come on, what do you say?”

She looked at him pondering his proposal.  “We never see each other the week I cycle.”

“Why not?”

“Do I need to get you a high school biology book?” She smiled.

“No.  If he cared about you as you say, he’d make sure that week, your every need and desire were being met.”

She leaned in close. “What would you do, if I was your girlfriend and it was that time of the month?”

“I’d come over and rub your feet, cook for you and do whatever I needed to make you comfortable.  It’s not fair that the week I get to impress you is the week you’re not at your best.”

“It’s the only time I can guarantee he won’t try to see me.”

“Just tell me when.”

 

Kyla-Cover-for-Kindle

Mailing List:

www.readtracyreed.com

Buy Links:

Amazon.com

Nookpress.com

Smashwords.com

AllRomanceeBooks.com

itunes.com

Leave a Reply

